Skip to main content

HomeAwards Information
AWAM Awards recognizes inspiring individuals who have been devoted to the maintenance field, had the courage to make their dreams come true, and have encouraged others in their aviation journey.  Nominees must have demonstrated, among other qualities, their commitment to community and/or campus service, leadership, responsibility, and professionalism.

(Awards are not given annually)

Richard C. Wellman

Recipient – Jim Mazeski

Established by the AWAM Board of Directors in 2002, the Richard C. Wellman Award recognizes deserving men and women who consistently and conscientiously champion women in aviation technology.  Richard “Dick” C. Wellman, the first award recipient, received the award at the PAMA awards luncheon in Indianapolis, IN.  Richard, at that time, was the Pratt & Whitney Customer Training Center Director and is a previous Chairman of PAMA.

Mr. Wellman has been an advocate of AWAM since its inception in 1997.

Mary Ann Eiff – Teacher of the Year

Named after first year recipient Mary Ann Eiff, this award honors a teacher who goes above and beyond the daily tasks of instructing classes.  They inspire and challenge students to think outside of the box and to become not only professionals, but also the best versions of themselves.  They give back to their community and continuously find new ways to bring the excitement of aviation into their classrooms.

Recipient – Jon Byrd

(With Mary Ann Eiff)

Student of the Year

Recipient – Stephanie A. Morris
(With AWAM Director – Lynette Ashland)

This award Honors a hardworking student who goes above and beyond the normal classroom requirements.  They are heavily involved in community outreach, aviation organizations, and strive to be the best of the best. These students are mentors, leaders, and will ultimately have a positive impact on the aviation community.